The Cat Ate My Plant

Musings from a woman, wife, and mother

What’s For Dinner? The 11/26/11 Edition November 29, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Fall,recipes,What's for dinner — thecatatemyplant @ 9:50 pm
Tags: , ,

Catching up! I’ve been in a turkey coma the past couple of days. I may go back. It’s been delicious!

Saturday’s dinner was phenomenal. I was looking for something new to do with turkey because we have a lot of leftovers. And, you can only do so much turkey, stuffing, and gravy casserole. I have my limits.

So, when I found this recipe for turkey pot pie on Life As Mom, I got giddy.  I’m not lying, absolutely giddy. It sounded delicious and I had been making a lot of crusts for my mini-pie adventures. Oh, mini-pies. But I digress…

So, I made the turkey pot pie with my yummy lard & butter crust. I skipped the peas, but only because I forgot. With the lard, butter, and gravy, this dish needs peas, green beans, and a weight loss program.

turkey pot pie: action shot!

before baking

I brushed the top with olive oil to make sure it became golden brown. I also added some leaf cut outs because I was feeling crafty.

so.worth.it

A tender, flaky crust that stood up to all that gravy. It was so delicious, so comforting, so coma inducing. Too bad I had a hockey game to go to that night! I figured the cold would help me work off the calories, but I don’t think it did enough, so I skipped the nachos, splurged on a $3.50, 12oz Diet Coke and called it a night.

Is it sad my exciting girls night involves Diet Coke and college hockey? I hope not; it’s what I got!

What have you been eating?

P.S. I was going to show you what the inside looked like, but suffice it to say, the pieces we cut didn’t last that long.

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.