The Cat Ate My Plant

Musings from a woman, wife, and mother

The 10 Days Are Up! November 4, 2011

Filed under: Baking — thecatatemyplant @ 3:26 am
Tags: , ,

Lately, I’ve been doing a lot of baking. I’m not entirely sure why, but I had my second baby and all of a sudden I need delicious carbs around me at all times. So much for losing the baby weight!

My friend brought me some Amish Friendship Bread. You know, the kind that you have to bake every 10 days and if you don’t find someone to take a starter you drown in it and bread until you give up and drain it down the sink.

I’d had this before but I had never made it. Did you know it comes with detailed instructions? The friend brought me the bread already baked in the original cinnamon form and a starter. I had 10 days to do research to see if you can do other flavors, or stick with what we were eating now.

Oh boy, can you do other flavors. There are a multitude of websites with various varieties. So far, I’ve made a pumpkin spice bread and a double chocolate bread. Since I feel like the texture is more cake-like than bread-like, I used the double chocolate ‘bread’ to celebrate my son’s second birthday. It did not last long!

I realized today is day 10. There are so many different varieties I want to try.  Tomorrow, I’ll be doing some baking. With two babies, we’ll see how it goes.

Here’s the varieties I’m thinking of:
Pumpkin
Zucchini
Cheese

I might do chocolate again if there is enough. I confess, I’m going to keep more starter around to do this again in 10 days. I’m nuts, but I’ll let you know how it goes. And you can go nuts with me.

 

2 Responses to “The 10 Days Are Up!”

  1. […] desert we’re going to finish off some of the Amish Friendship Bread I made from my mad baking session. Most of it froze, but some stuck around for ‘quality […]

  2. […] not sure that I ever posted a proper update to my previous post about this little bit of awesomeness. I went on my baking marathon and switched up the varieties I […]


Leave a Reply

