The Cat Ate My Plant

Musings from a woman, wife, and mother

Applesauce! November 8, 2011

Filed under: crockpot,Fall — thecatatemyplant @ 1:23 am
Tags: , ,

 

The Start

As I type the word applesauce, I can hear my little one saying it with a huge smile on his face! He does love his applesauce. I’ve been getting these great pre-packaged pouches of applesauce that he can enjoy by himself. No spoon, no bowl, no mess! I still get the jars too, but that is mainly for baking and jello.

I found a fun looking recipe for Crockpot Applesauce and I had some apples in the freezer from last year that needed attention, so voila! I experimented.  Instead of fresh apples (mine are yet to be processed) I used 9 cups of already frozen apples and skipped the water. After 4 hours, I added only 2 tablespoons of sugar, and some cinnamon, ginger, allspice, and cloves. I can’t give you measurements, because I just sprinkled it all in until it looked ‘just right.’

Well, the result was wonderful! Chunky, warm, delicious applesauce. My husband kept telling me it tasted like apple crumble filling. Experiment a success!

The final product

Have you been experimenting lately?

 

Leave a Reply

