The Cat Ate My Plant

Musings from a woman, wife, and mother

What’s For Dinner? 11/9/11 Edition November 9, 2011

Filed under: Baking,random musings,What's for dinner — thecatatemyplant @ 11:08 pm
Tags: , , , ,

I’m still on a ‘what’s easy?’ kick. I’m not sure why.  It could be the weather changes, the fact that I’ve been going to bed too late, or some other random reason that I don’t know about  But that’s the way things go! Thank goodness I prepared a lot of freezer meals before the baby was born. I went through a huge cooking phase the past two months and barely used any of it, so now it’s time.

Tonight for dinner we’re having spaghetti with meat sauce and garlic rolls.  The sauce is a recipe from a church friend of mine, and is amazing! It is rich, hearty, and smokey! Not something I expected from a meat sauce the first time I tried it. The secret is bacon! I added some parmesean cheese rinds that I had in the freezer when I cooked it up for a little extra flavor (as if it needed it).

The rolls are a new favorite of our family. Bread Machine Butter Rolls are a recipe I got from Crystal at MoneySavingMom.com. We’re in love and I’m pretty sure I make them once a week.  Maybe more. My only issue with the rolls is that I can’t seem to get them all uniform in size and shape. That’s a pretty serious offense! 🙂

I’ve been experimenting with add-ins to switch up my pitch-up a little bit. Tonight, I threw in 1T of garlic powder and some parsley. That might be a lot of garlic for some, but I really like garlic. Ask the hubs!

So it was a good, hearty, carb loaded meal tonight. What did you have for dinner?

 

One Response to “What’s For Dinner? 11/9/11 Edition”

  1. […] is a night of leftovers.  Spaghetti in fact. Last night I threw stew in the crockpot and we had that for lunch. I used this stew […]


Leave a Reply

