The Cat Ate My Plant

Musings from a woman, wife, and mother

Amish Friendship Bread: Update November 11, 2011

Filed under: Baking,What's for dinner — thecatatemyplant @ 6:06 pm
Tags: , ,

I’m not sure that I ever posted a proper update to my previous post about this little bit of awesomeness. I went on my baking marathon and switched up the varieties I had planned on trying.  Partly because of taste, partly because of available ingredients, and partly because of a whim and a fancy.

Traditional Amish Friendship Bread

I ended up making two batches of Pumpkin Spice flavored bread, Nutella cupcakes, the traditional cinnamon flavor, and double chocolate.  I got all of my inspiration from this great website, Friendship Bread Kitchen.

I did make some modifications though.
Pumpkin Spice Bread: I actually had butternut squash freshly roasted and pureed, so it’s technically Butternut Squash Spice bread.
Nutella Bread: I made these in to cupcakes, and instead of swirling in the Nutella, I put 1tsp in the middle of each cupcake and covered it with batter. YUM!
Traditional Flavor: This was made as-is. Can’t go wrong with the original!
Double Chocolate: This recipe was actually for chocolate peanut butter bread, but I didn’t have peanut butter chips. I used chocolate instead and I also didn’t have chocolate pudding so I used vanilla and added an extra tablespoon of cocoa powder. Tastes great!

Double Chocolate Friendship Bread

I’ve frozen a lot of the bread. There is no way I could eat all that in 10 days! There’s no way I should eat that in 10 days! But, it is all delicious, and I’ve kept a starter out. Stay tuned!

 

2 Responses to “Amish Friendship Bread: Update”

  1. […] dessert we are still working on some of the Amish Friendship Bread from my recent baking storm. I’ve got another one of those coming up in 2 […]

  2. […] also finally finished off the double chocolate Amish Friendship Bread cake. Perfect timing too. I’ll be making more in the next day or […]


Leave a Reply

