The Cat Ate My Plant

Musings from a woman, wife, and mother

What’s For Dinner? The 11/13/11 Edition November 15, 2011

Filed under: recipes,What's for dinner — thecatatemyplant @ 12:31 am
Tags: , ,

I didn’t do any posting yesterday. I don’t really have a good reason. My husband was home all day and the kids were behaving, but sometimes, the day just gets away form you I guess.

So, Sunday for dinner we had meatloaf. As a kid, I always thought this was a weird meal. Couple that with the fact that it was smothered in ketchup and I did not want to eat it.  But, after doing an inventory of my freezer, I realized we had 27 pounds of ground beef to use up. That doesn’t include the countless steaks and roasts. So, I fired up the computer, started searching. I didn’t find much on my favorite food site, allrecipes.com, but about that time lifeasmom.com made a post about making meatloaf on the grill. The ingredients sounded good so I figured I’d try it.

I then busted open (yes, busted) my trusty Betty Crocker Cookbook and found a cheesy broccoli and rice recipe. YUM! Add a salad, and I called that good. Although I was wary, the meatloaf actually became a favorite! I still don’t quite understand how this

Raw Meatloaf - YUCK

Could turn in to this

Cooked Meatloaf - YUM!

It’s pretty obvious we didn’t cook this on the grill. A 350′ oven and an hour of time did just the trick. And there was plenty of leftovers for lunch today. Even better.

And we can’t forget the rice.

Cheesy Broccoli and Rice

Oh, that delicious rice!

So what did you have for dinner yesterday?

 

One Response to “What’s For Dinner? The 11/13/11 Edition”

  1. […] About every 3-4 days we are required to have a dinner of leftovers. With just two adults and one two-year-old, most recipes are too much for us in a sitting. Most, but not all (ahem, pizza). So, we had a smorgasboard of stew, beans & rice, and meatloaf with cheesy broccoli & rice. […]


Leave a Reply

