The Cat Ate My Plant

Musings from a woman, wife, and mother

What’s For Dinner? The 11/14/11 Edition November 15, 2011

It’s Meatless Monday! We usually have some version of rice & beans on Mondays. The hubs is more of a meat & potatoes kind of guy so this has been a big change for him. Actually, eating with me in general has been a big change for him! Have I mentioned that when we first married, he didn’t eat vegetables? Not. One.  Not even the tiniest pieces of mushrooms from a can of Cream of Mushroom soup. Ridiculous! So, I set out to show him veggies weren’t so bad. Nine years later, he enjoys salads and is slow to start picking apart the veggies from his foods.

That being said, he is still sad if more than 2 dinners are meatless in a week.

Meatless Mondays also tend to have a Mexican theme. We love our Mexican food! Mexican food and Mexican tequila. Margaritas in fact. But, I digress. Back to dinner.

Meatless Monday

It’s pretty basic and almost always thrown together last-minute. I combined 1 can of Ranch Style beans with 3C cooked rice. I also added corn & peas from the freezer as well as 1/2 can of diced tomatoes for color & veggie content. Finally, there is homemade Taco Seasoning & salt. I used the recipe for the seasoning from here.  Don’t forget when you cook with this seasoning, that there is no salt in it unlike the pre-packaged stuff. The first time I used it I couldn’t figure out why it was so under seasoned. That’s why!

For dessert we are still working on some of the Amish Friendship Bread from my recent baking storm. I’ve got another one of those coming up in 2 days.

What did you have for dinner?

 

2 Responses to “What’s For Dinner? The 11/14/11 Edition”

  1. […] too much for us in a sitting. Most, but not all (ahem, pizza). So, we had a smorgasboard of stew, beans & rice, and meatloaf with cheesy broccoli & […]

  2. […] a follow up to What’s For Dinner? The 11/14/11 Edition, I started making my own taco seasoning a few months ago.  I use coupons so it’s not that […]


Leave a Reply

