The Cat Ate My Plant

Musings from a woman, wife, and mother

Grocery Shopping November 18, 2011

Filed under: Deal Shopping — thecatatemyplant @ 3:05 pm
Tags: , ,

In our quest to financial freedom, one of the things I have been working diligently on is reducing our monthly grocery budget. I’m guessing that’s why this blog is mainly about food; I spend a lot of time planning & preparing it!

Just about every Tuesday (and sometimes other days) I go shopping looking for deals & steals. Mainly on groceries, but I like deals for household & clothing items too. A girl’s gotta look good, right?  This last Tuesday was all about groceries. I mean, we are preparing for Thanksgiving!

Aldi Trip

All of this was $13.89. And I’m so excited with what I’m going to do with it!

The carrots & celery& onions are for stuffing the bird this year. And, making stock afterwards. I made stock for the first time a few months ago, and now I won’t stop. I’m constantly scooping up leftover bones from chicken & turkeys and freezing them for the big stock day. You can do this with beef too, but I haven’t tackled that mountain yet.

I’m also planning on making a huge batch of red sauce with the onions. Hopefully tomorrow, because I’ve been planning it for a couple of days and it just keeps getting pushed back. It’s a crockpot recipe, so I only need about 20 min. in the morning and then everything else can be done after the kid’s bedtime. So, why am I procrastinating?

The squash is going to be baked. I’m thinking of adding some maple syrup & nuts in the middle. Sound yummy?

And finally, the mushrooms. I hate mushrooms! But, they were on clearance for $0.10 a package and I just read a great blog post on making your own cream of mushroom soup. We use a lot of cream of mushroom soup. So, right now I’m going to freeze them, but I’ll hopefully make the soup soon. I’ll let you know how it turns out!

I also went to Walgreens this week. There were some awesome sales! I didn’t get a good picture of  the goodies from that trip (thanks kids for not napping! 🙂  ) but I’ll let you know, it was great. I’m stocked up with crackers and sparkling grape juice for the next few months! I got my deal ideas from Common Sense With Money. I signed up for their blog and in the daily email and she told me how to get bottles of sparkling grape juice for $1.50 per bottle, Nabisco crackers for $1.50 per box, and Ziploc bags for $1.50 per box. I go through a lot of Ziploc bags with all the freezing I do, so this one was especially exciting. So much so, I got four boxes: 2 gallon size and 2 quart size! I spent about $47.23 which is a lot, but there was also children & infant’s tylenol in there, but I didn’t have coupons. With the medicine, I saved about 50%. If you take away what I bought without coupons, I’m looking at about 70%!

Did you get any good deals this week?

 

Leave a Reply

