The Cat Ate My Plant

Musings from a woman, wife, and mother

What’s For Dinner? The 11/19/11 Edition November 20, 2011

Filed under: recipes — thecatatemyplant @ 11:57 pm

After last night’s dinner, I fell asleep in a food coma. It was wonderful. There wasn’t anything super special about dinner, it just hit the spot. We had baked ham, cheesy potatoes, and peas. For some reason, the peas were what really called to me. A little salt, a little butter, a lot of deliciousness!

The cheesy potatoes were pretty awesome too. I made my own hash browns! I used up potatoes that we had received from our CSA and went to Heavenly Homemakers for their recipe on making your own hash browns. Did I mention we had the traditional white, and purple? Yeah, purple potatoes. It’s pretty awesome.

Once the potatoes (a whole 2lbs) were made, I threw them in a bowl with:

1 can cream of mushroom soup

1 can cream of celery soup

1/2C sour cream

1/2C cream

8oz (or more 🙂 )  of shredded cheddar, Monterrey jack or a combination of both cheeses

1/2tsp garlic salt

a dash of garlic powder

1C onions sautéed in 3/4C melted butter*

*I use about 1T of melted butter rather than a full 3/4C, but you’ll have to do what you like.

Put all of this in a 9×13 pan. Cover with tin foil and put in a 350′ oven for 45 minutes. Then, uncover and bake for an additional 15-20 minutes.

Note: I got this recipe from my mother-in-law and she actually doesn’t mix everything together, but puts the potatoes straight in to a 9×13 pan. Then, she mixes everything together, pours it on top of the potatoes, and uses a fork to poke down some of the mixture. I haven’t noticed a difference, but I tend to not notice certain subtleties 🙂

What was on your plate?

 

 

One Response to “What’s For Dinner? The 11/19/11 Edition”

  1. […] the sandwiches. I had thinly sliced some ham from last night’s dinner in anticipation for these. I used this recipe from Macheesmo for […]


Leave a Reply

