The Cat Ate My Plant

Musings from a woman, wife, and mother

What’s For Dinner? The 11/21/11 Edition November 21, 2011

Filed under: random musings — thecatatemyplant @ 11:39 pm

It’s meatless Monday again! I wanted to experiment with soup. Up until today, every soup I’ve ever tried to make has failed. Either I didn’t put enough liquid in it so it was more like mush, or it was completely flavorless! Remind me to tell you about my kale & potato disaster.  Anyways, the brave persevere, right? And, I had all this great tomato juice left over from the red sauce I made this weekend so I thought it would make a perfect base for vegetable soup with rolls.

The soup was:

3C Tomato juice/water from canned tomatoes

3C water (I imagine you can use broth too, I just didn’t)

3 potatoes

2 carrots

1 small onion

3 celery stalks

leftover steak from last night

The rolls were our new favorite from Money Saving Mom

My plan was to throw everything in the crockpot this morning, but alas, C had to visit the doctor so I figured if I did it over nap and put it on high it would work. Right? Six hours seemed like plenty of time!

At nap I rushed to put everything in the pot. I cut up a couple of carrots, some celery, potatoes and onions. I also decided I would throw in the leftover steak from last night. I had overcooked it so it was tough and I figured a day in a crockpot might cure it of all its ills. I also figured that since I wasn’t preparing a new meat dish for Monday, it still counted as meatless Monday. Right? Maybe my logic is flawed…

Anyways, 4:30 rolls around and as I’m taking my rolls out of the oven I decide to check on the soup. Low and behold, it appears my cute two-year-old changed my crockpot settings from high to low. Note to self: push crockpot all the way back on the counter; he is unusually tall! So, nothing was cooked.

I quick turned it on high, then rummaged through coupon binder for the McDonald’s coupons we got in the paper. BOGO sandwiches plus fries from the dollar menu and a Diet Coke and it wouldn’t be too expensive. Gotta have the Diet Coke!

So here it is, 10 o’clock and my soup is finally done. Tastes great too. Even the steak got nice and tender. All in all, a success I say!

 

 

2 Responses to “What’s For Dinner? The 11/21/11 Edition”

  1. […] we ate the soup from yesterday’s post.  I’m still pumped about the fact that I finally made a soup that worked! Share […]

  2. […] I froze this to use for soup […]


Leave a Reply

