The Cat Ate My Plant

Musings from a woman, wife, and mother

Mini Pies! November 29, 2011

Filed under: Baking,Fall,random musings,recipes — thecatatemyplant @ 9:48 pm
Tags: , ,

I have a thing for cherry pie. That’s how it started. Hubs doesn’t like cherry pie, and I can’t/shouldn’t finish a whole one by myself. Though, some days I want to!

So, a few years ago I got this genius idea to make mini pies. I used muffin tins to bake them and the first time I made them I made grasshopper, banana cream, and cherry. They did not last long.

It became a new passion of mine. They were the perfect size for someone trying to lose weight! Just 3-4 bites and your craving is gone. But, you can end up eating the whole batch anyways: dangerous! So, I leave a few out and quickly freeze the rest.

This year I decided to make cherry pomegranate, pumpkin, and apple cranberry mini pies. I’ve so far only made the cherry pomegranate and pumpkin. Apple Cranberry is on deck!

I used the cherry pomegranate recipe from The Frugal Girls.

pomegranate seeds

Hubs de-seeded the pomegranate. He’s never encountered a pomegranate. He said they looked like corn kernels. I can’t say he’s wrong!

pies with cherries

I was able to put 7 cherries plus some sauce in each pie.

pomegranate seeds: action shot!

I then sprinkled a generous portion of pomegranate seeds on top. It went something like this…

Some for the pies

Some for me

repeat

plain pomegranate & cherry pies

Then, I got all crafty. And made leaves to go on top.

cherry and pomegranate pie!

And, finally, just before I devoured it…

nom nom nom

And, just to be fair, here’s the pumpkin.

pumpkin pie

I’m not a huge fan. Can you tell? But, Hubs likes them. So, I make him a pumpkin pie once a year. Or mini pies. And sometimes, I get crafty and put a pumpkin on the top. Side note: I pureed that pumpkin myself. I’m hardcore! ha ha

 

One Response to “Mini Pies!”

  1. […] not lying, absolutely giddy. It sounded delicious and I had been making a lot of crusts for my mini-pie adventures. Oh, mini-pies. But I […]


Leave a Reply

