The Cat Ate My Plant

Musings from a woman, wife, and mother

What’s For Dinner? The 12/3/11 Edition December 4, 2011

Filed under: Deal Shopping,recipes,What's for dinner — thecatatemyplant @ 7:34 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Dinners have been pretty boring over here. Not only a lot of repeats, but a lot of leftovers!

The other day, I was watching The Chew on ABC and Michael Symon made something that really caught my eye! He called it Bacon Noodle Surprise and I thought anything with bacon can’t be so bad!

The nice thing was that the ingredients I needed from the store just happened to be on sale! Cabbage for $0.39/lb and sour cream and pasta for $1 works for me!  I will say I didn’t use bacon because I was out, but I figured ham would be an acceptable substitute. I’d say it was! I used about 1/2C of ham and if I did anything differently it would be to use more ham. The recipe calls for 1/2 package of bacon and I’m pretty sure that’s more than 1/2C. Just sayin’…

It turns out this was a hit with everybody but Hubs. He’s not a huge fan of cabbage. He said he’d eat it if there wasn’t cabbage in there and I said what’s the point? But E (my two-year-old) and my mom who was visiting all thought it was delicious. Mark that one in the WIN category.

What did you have for dinner?

 

Leave a Reply

