The Cat Ate My Plant

Musings from a woman, wife, and mother

What’s For Dinner? The 12/4/11 Edition December 5, 2011

Filed under: recipes,What's for dinner — thecatatemyplant @ 8:46 am
Tags: ,

Tonight’s dinner was an impromptu surprise. We had purchased some meat from a company called Direct America a while back and I was trying to use it up. There were four Teriyaki chicken breasts left and 4 people eating (my mom is visiting) so I figured it was a sign. Or, coincidence…either way!

The original plan was to make these chicken breasts, figure out some kind of rice pilaf and then peas or green beans for a veg. Boring, but passable. Well, about 10 minutes before I was to start dinner, I decided I wanted to make fried rice and sautéed green beans just like you get at your local Chinese restaurant! Oh, boy. I’ve attempted Chinese food before and it’s always OK, but never great.

Since the breasts were pre-seasoned and sauced I didn’t have to do anything. The magic came with the rice and beans. I used this recipe from Allrecipes.com because it looked quick and easy. It definitely was! I didn’t add the chicken since this was going to be a side dish, but I did add grated carrots (we still have a lot to use up). I treated the carrots like I would the onions and sautéed them in the butter. It was so great!

Then, I sautéed the green beans in 1T garlic and 1T soy sauce. I only used about a cup of frozen green beans (the ones from our garden) and I’m thinking next time I could halve my ingredients. It was really good, but I still smell like garlic!

What did you have for dinner?

 

Leave a Reply

