The Cat Ate My Plant

Musings from a woman, wife, and mother

Decorating for Beginners: Office Edition August 14, 2012

Filed under: Deal Shopping,decorating — thecatatemyplant @ 10:54 am
Tags: , , ,

Paneling, primed

Among all the other things I’m doing, I’m trying to learn how to decorate. Oh, boy! The pace has accelerated with my mom moving in. We are relocating our office to a basement room downstairs, and then preparing the third bedroom for her…in two weeks.

My decorating tastes have never been considered country or shabby chic, but I can appreciate the beauty of that genre. My husband’s family is very good at decorating in both genres and so we frequently get beautiful, meaningful gifts from them that reflect this. I’ve previously incorporated them into our everyday living spaces because I didn’t know what to do with them. But with our new house, I’ve decided it’s time for me to learn how to decorate, work on my ‘style’ and stop having my house look like a mix n’ mash of Goodwill and gifts.  Though, I’ll be doing all of my shopping at Goodwill, thrift stores, and Craigslist!

The basement room is dark. There is no windows, a drop ceiling with ugly fluorescent lights, and dark paneling. I don’t think it’s been touched since the 70s when it was built. This, I’ve decided, will be our country room. I’ve got to paint it anyways, I think the wood paneling would go great with that theme, and I need a place to display all those beautiful things.

With our landlord’s blessing, the first step is to paint the paneling. After two coats of primer taking approximately 7 hours to put on, I’m exhausted. I don’t want to touch another can of paint for a while, even though I know that is unrealistic. But now I don’t know where to take it! I bought two cans of tan oops paint the other day ($5, each – score!) but Hubs thinks the primer looks great as is because it looks like an old whitewashed barn.

Paneling, up close

I feel like you can still see some dark/yellow coming through. So, what would you do. Leave it, paint it, prime again?

 

Leave a Reply

