The Cat Ate My Plant

Musings from a woman, wife, and mother

Making A To Do List September 21, 2012

Filed under: Goals,Small Things,What's for dinner — thecatatemyplant @ 8:25 am

I really enjoy lists. To Do lists especially. I’ve spent a lot of time over the years refining my techniques on To Do lists. And yes, there are To Do list techniques.  I noticed that with my compulsive personality, I have a tendency to write down everything I want to get done ever on a daily to do list. The logic? Why what if I have a bunch of extra time on my hands?

Yeah, right. I have a three-year-old, a one-year-old, a mother and a husband as well as running a household and doing schooling. Extra time doesn’t really seem to fight in my world view right now.

What I’ve ended up doing, is making two lists. The first list is long. Long, long. Looooooooooooooooong, long. It is all the house projects that I want done, both little and big. The second list is my daily list. I try to keep it down to about five items on the list. For instance, my list today was:

Crockpot Marinara Sauce

Homework

Vacuum

Hang onions for curing

Play date

This list obviously doesn’t include many of the everyday things we do such as eating, naps, and dishes. But it does include a small amount of freezer cooking (the Crockpot Marinara Sauce), house cleaning (vacuuming), gardening (dealing with those yummy onions!), and a play date.

And let’s be honest, sometimes my To Do list is a little more…reachable.

Make Dinner

Play date

Shower

Homework

Hang onions for curing

In this house, showering and making dinner are legitimate to-dos some times!

And when the daily To Do list is a little light, I start tackling the big list.  Which never really goes down, but it has a lot of things crossed off on it!

There is something utterly satisfying about crossing off an item from your To Do list. How do you make your lists?

 

Leave a Reply

